+-

Alarm Monitoring

Alarm Monitoring

Members Online

80 Guests, 0 Users

Alarm Installer Search and Reviews

Myalarminstaller.com

Author Topic: Exxis 2nd hand..no cam image  (Read 12331 times)

Slider2732

• I'm a llama!
    • View Profile
Exxis 2nd hand..no cam image
« on: March 23, 2006, 03:43:05 PM »
Hi..

Hoping someone can help me with a system i bought today.

It's a B/W Exxis CCTV setup, comprising 17" monitor EO4174Q and 4 x ESC-1A camera's with microphones inbuilt.
Whole system was just $20 from a thrift store.
Yep, $20...and no connector cables, but i was a CCTV operator til i recently moved here to the USA from England and have electronics experience of 25 years. Decent project for home surveillance was the thought.

The monitor powers on, everything seems fine. Time and date etc are current and the whole setup is very clean indeed for a 1999 model.
I went to Radio Shack and bought an RJ11 6 wire extension. Plugged that into CA1 on the back of the monitor and the other end into the monitor socket on a cam. Nothing on the screen except "No Signal".
I tried the lead on all 4 cameras, in case the first was bust, and indeed into all 4 cam ports on the monitor, but nothing comes up on the screen.
The monitor makes a noise on cam plug in, which seems to demonstrate a signal for the audio..but no picture and indeed no further sound.

There's 2 RJ11 ports on the camera's..one says "Monitor", one says "Interphone". Connecting to interphone trips the monitor out, so it definitely doesn't go in that socket !

Beside the Radio Shack lead itself being faulty (which i'll continuity test in a minute), anyone have any ideas on how i can get a cam signal to display on the monitor screen ?

agidi

• I'm a llama!
    • View Profile
Re:Exxis 2nd hand..no cam image
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2006, 06:46:01 PM »

ahh, you too need the pinouts for the Exxis then.  ;D

Slider2732

• I'm a llama!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2006, 07:53:25 AM »