+-

Alarm Monitoring

Alarm Monitoring

Members Online

62 Guests, 0 Users

Alarm Installer Search and Reviews

Myalarminstaller.com

Author Topic: Brinks security system question (low batt warning on keypad)  (Read 18313 times)

Telegan

• View Profile
Brinks security system question (low batt warning on keypad)
« on: October 16, 2010, 07:31:16 PM »
I have no experience with these things, but here goes : I have a Brinks security system in my home that is unmonitored.  It's been there since the house was built in 2004.  The model is BHS 3000c from what I can tell.  Recently the keypad has been showing a "LOW BATT" message and beeping every now and then.  From what I've read from Googling, there's a battery in the control panel/box that sits in my closet that my need replacing.  My questions :

1) There is one screw that seems to be holding the cover of the control box in place.  I'm guessing I'm not going to trigger anything by removing this cover, am I?  This may be a stupid question, but I'm ignorant about how these things work. lol.  See pic below.

2) If the issue is just a replacement battery is needed, is it as simple as taking the cover off and replacing a battery?  Is any soldering or splicing of wire necessary?  And do I need to turn power off to the unit before doing so?

3) There is a transformer/plug of some type plugged into a socket and a screw is going into the wall plate holding it in place.  The wires from the plug seem to go into the wall.  See picture below.  If I just don't want to deal with this Brinks unit, can I just unplug that thing from there and the whole unit be disabled?  Is this thing somehow going to phone home or will I get shot by Brinks for doing it?  Or is this going to set off some kind of alarm that I won't be able to turn off? =)

I haven't bothered calling Brinks because I'm pretty sure they won't give me any info since I don't have their service.  And I don't want to pay for them to fix something I don't even want in my house.